Change

We are all afraid of change in our lives. I was scared about the change when my daughter was born. I was scared about the change when I moved to my current job. I am scared of what the future may hold for me.

We are all scared about something changing our lives, whether it be for the better or worse. Change is inevitable.

Now this is where it gets tricky. I want to change. I want to change aspects of my life for the better, but I fear change as well.

I fear that these changes should have been made long ago. I fear that I will be happier and regret not making these changes long ago. I fear change.

So how do I go about making these changes and face my fears? That is the all-important question.

Some would say that I should just go ahead and make the changes and face the outcomes (good or bad). But I fear change. Why do I want to venture into the unknown, even if the outcome is good?

That is my biggest struggle at this moment of life. There are things I want to change, but I can’t bring myself to change them because I fear the unknown. I fear being happier (or sadder), I fear good outcomes.

Why do I have this irrational fear about good coming from change? I would like to know. I’m sure that some others would like to know. But the easiest outcome is to just bury my head in the sand and let change pass me by without facing up to the fears that it brings along.

