Inspirations

Now you all know that I am somewhat of a lazy person who is trying to unravel my life. However I know that I need to improve aspects of my life so that I can become a better version of the person that I am. That is the final goal of mine.

However there are several inspirations that I have come across in my internet journeys. Each of them has shared new insights into the way that I think, as well as provided ideas that I may be able to use as I unravel my life.

Minimalism

According to Joshua Becker of Becoming Minimalist, minimalism is:

the intentional promotion of the things we most value and the removal of everything that distracts us from it

This is one of many interpretations of what minimalism is, however of all that I have seen, this is the one that makes the most sense to me. We should only value things that add meaning to our lives and not valuing and owning every little thing.

There is nothing that says you need to have very few possessions, but what you do own adds value to your life.

Choice of Friends

Another quote that resonates with me comes from Joshua Fields Millburn of The Minimalists:

You can’t change the people around you, but you can change the people around you – Goodbye Fake Friends

Basically I need to surround myself with people who have values that align with my values and not surrounding myself with people just for the sake of having people around me.

Non Zero Day

Non Zero Day. I came across this one recently. The premise is that everyday you do at least one activity or task that aligns with your goals and moves you one step closer to where you want to be.

While I have not explored the Non Zero Day concept in-depth, it follows on from a Youtube video I was recommended about taking actions as soon as they come to mind because if you don’t, you won’t likely take action. I need to adopt this attitude to just “get things done”.

Controlling Emotions

Now this is the most challenging idea so far, not because it sounds so simple, but because my mind is ingrained with the complete opposite. So far I have changed some aspects, but there is always the temptation to fall into old habits. Having read F*ck Feelings, I can see the benefits of not dwelling on feelings that I have little to no control over.

Just forgetting about them is difficult, not letting them affect you is hard, but not letting them affect you lifts a weight from your shoulders that I have not felt before. You don’t realise what a burden something is until you stop letting it affect you. Again this is something I need to do more regularly and will improve my levels of happiness.

Conclusions

These are the bigger inspirations I have come across on my journey of unravelling my life. There are a multitude of others which I may share at a later date, but these are small in comparison to the big impacts. Again the Pareto Principle is at work, 20% of my tools make 80% of the rewards.

