Worries

One thing that I am reminded of recently is that no matter how much I worry about I have no control over the outcome, and that is the Federal Election of Australia. I am one person out of millions registered to vote, and while I am privileged to have a say in who runs the country, I am a tiny percentage and my solitary vote will not decide the final outcome. So it feels safe to say that I will have next to no control over the outcome, although the outcome will affect my future.

So when it comes to me worrying about the outcome of the federal election in Australia, there is really no point in me worrying because I have next to no control over how it will affect me. Whether the party I want to run the country gets in or not, I am still bound by the ruling party and have no say in what they choose to do with their power. All I can do is sit back and take a ride while the politicians sort themselves out and rule the country in the way that they see fit.

The reasoning behind it comes from my reading of F*ck Feelings by Michael & Sarah Bennett. They share that it is not necessarily worth worrying about things you can not control. I certainly do not have any control over the outcome of a nationwide election, so why should I waste energy worrying about it?

Sure I can worry about the outcome, but is it worth my time? Probably not. I would just be wasting time and energy on something that I have little impact over, when I could be using that energy into doing something good for myself, my family or the people around me. No point wasting energy on “spilt milk” so to say.

So while I may talk about the outcome with friends, I am not worried by it because it is what it is and I have no control over what happens next. I will be focusing my efforts and energy into things I can control and that is doing a good job at work to make the clients happy with the products we deliver. Provided I can do that satisfactorily, I will make sure that I have a job, and that is something I do have control over.

2 thoughts on “Worries”

  1. Omg! This is exactly how I feel about our Presidential election and the “candidates” that are seeking to be elected. Idk if you have candidates in Australia in which the people have faith in and I hoping there are…nothing like Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. Makes me weep for humanity if either one is elected. Sad truth of the matter is, none of all candidates seeking the office for the Presidency of the US were people that I wanted running our country. We’ll see how things turn out cork November!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is quite difficult to not worry about things you feel that you have control over. Sometimes I need to take a step back and evaluate whether the current thoughts running around in my head are really relevant and whether I have control over them.

      I think having read F*ck Feelings, I am all the better for it because it helps you evaluate whether something is really worth worrying about.

      While the US Presidential Election has far-reaching effects on the world we unfortunately, cannot control what ultimately happens.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.